Visual Studio 2005 and Windows 2008 Server SDK

Posted: September 3, 2008 in Computer and Internet

 

Had plentiful of problem to get the new SDK to integrate with Visual Studio 2008 SP1 and Visual Studio 2005 SP1. Apprently there is a bug in the 2008 SP1 that "corrupts" a few registry keys with version numbers the Windows SDK configuration tool cannot handle. Read about it here

After fixing those keys the tools still crashes on me, so I found this thread where they introduce an undocumented option like so:

WindowsSdkVer.exe  -version:v6.1 -legacy

And finally it integrates automatically without me having to do it manually, although I think it would have been faster for me to just do that as this took a good 30min.. Use your Windows update for some good please. if this has been discovered fix it or handle me the sources to the WindowsSdkVer programs so I can figure out why it is crashing!

Leave a Reply

